Skip to Main Content
Watch Senate Chambers

Becoming bell hooks

Explore the life and legacy of Kentucky-born author bell hooks, who wrote nearly 40 books and whose work at the intersection of race, class and gender serves as a lasting contribution to the feminist movement. Learn how bell’s childhood in Hopkinsville and her connection to Kentucky’s “hillbilly culture” informed her views and her belief that feminism is for everybody. Becoming bell hooks, a one-hour documentary, features selections read by Academy Award winner Octavia Spencer and interviews with feminist activist Gloria Steinem, Kentucky writers Crystal Wilkinson and Silas House, bell’s younger sister Gwenda Motley and many others.
Season 1 Episode 1 Length 58:35 Premiere: 02/27/24

About

About

Explorethe life and legacy of Kentucky-born author bell hooks, who wrote nearly 40 books and whose work at the intersection of race, class and gender serves as a lasting contribution to the feminist movement. Learn how bell’s childhood in Hopkinsville and her connection to Kentucky’s “hillbilly culture” informed her views and her belief that feminism is for everybody. Becoming bell hooks, a one-hour documentary, features selections read by Academy Award winner Octavia Spencer and interviews with feminist activist Gloria Steinem, Kentucky writers Crystal Wilkinson and Silas House, bell’s younger sister Gwenda Motley and many others.

Premieres February 27th at 9/8 pm on KET

The program is funded in part by the KET Endowment for Kentucky Productions.


Thanks to students Savannah B., Akhira U., Deidra W., Jazmin W. and Meg W. who read an excerpt from bell hooks’ beloved work, “Belonging: A Culture of Place.”

Sponsored by:

Season 1 Episodes

Becoming bell hooks

S1 E1 Length 58:35 Premiere Date 02/27/24

See All Episodes

caret down

TV Schedules

Upcoming

No upcoming airdates

Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Becoming bell hooks

  • Saturday April 6, 2024 7:30 am ET on KETKY
  • Saturday April 6, 2024 6:30 am CT on KETKY
  • Saturday April 6, 2024 12:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Friday April 5, 2024 11:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Thursday April 4, 2024 7:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Thursday April 4, 2024 6:00 am CT on KETKY
  • Thursday April 4, 2024 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday April 4, 2024 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Wednesday April 3, 2024 7:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Wednesday April 3, 2024 6:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday March 31, 2024 2:00 pm ET on KET
  • Sunday March 31, 2024 1:00 pm CT on KET
Top

Explore KET