Skip to Main Content

The Cancer Detectives

The Cancer Detectives tells the untold story of the first-ever war on cancer and the coalition of people who fought tirelessly to save women from cervical cancer: a Greek immigrant, Dr. George Papanicolaou; his intrepid wife, Mary; Japanese-born artist Hashime Murayama; Dr. Helen Dickens, an African American OBGYN in Philadelphia; and an entirely new class of female scientists.
Season 36 Episode 3 Length 52:54 Premiere: 03/26/24

Sponsored by:

Season 36 Episodes

Poisoned Ground: The Tragedy at Love Canal

S36 E4 Length 1:52:30 Premiere Date 03/27/24

The Cancer Detectives

S36 E3 Length 52:54 Premiere Date 03/26/24

Fly with Me

S36 E2 Length 1:52:39 Premiere Date 02/20/24

Nazi Town, USA

S36 E1 Length 52:32 Premiere Date 01/23/24

Trailer | The Cancer Detectives

Preview Length 01:35 Premiere Date 03/26/24

Chapter 1 | The Cancer Detectives

Clip Length 08:55 Premiere Date 03/26/24

Government Film: Target Tokyo

Clip Length 21:45 Premiere Date 03/18/10

Government Film: Operation Cover Up

Clip Length 09:09 Premiere Date 03/18/10

Government film: Incapacitation by Enterotoxin

Clip Length 05:46 Premiere Date 03/18/10

Government Film: Botulism

Clip Length 09:43 Premiere Date 03/18/10

Soylent Green Trailer

Clip Length 03:28 Premiere Date 02/15/10

Government Film: Combat America

Clip Length 08:21 Premiere Date 01/12/10

Government Film: Memphis Belle

Clip Length 10:06 Premiere Date 01/12/10

Interview Dr. Alfred Crosby

Clip Length 06:07 Premiere Date 12/21/09

Interview Dr. Shirley Fannin

Clip Length 09:22 Premiere Date 12/21/09

Author Interview: Neil Maher

Clip Length 07:00 Premiere Date 09/24/09

The 1930s Series Preview

Preview Length 01:02 Premiere Date 08/20/09

See All Episodes

caret down

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

The Riot Report - S36 E5

President Lyndon B. Johnson appointed the 11-member Kerner Commission to investigate the riots that engulfed urban communities across the country in 1967.

  • Tuesday May 21, 2024 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday May 21, 2024 9:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday May 23, 2024 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday May 23, 2024 1:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday May 23, 2024 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Thursday May 23, 2024 8:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday May 24, 2024 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Friday May 24, 2024 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday May 25, 2024 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday May 25, 2024 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday May 25, 2024 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday May 25, 2024 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday May 25, 2024 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday May 25, 2024 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD

Surviving the Dust Bowl - S10 E8

Premiered On: 11/16/2009

Beginning in 1930 dust storms ravaged America's overplowed southern plains, turning wheat fields into desert. Disease, hardship, and death followed, yet the majority of people stayed on, steadfastly refusing to give up on the land and a way of life.

  • Wednesday May 22, 2024 2:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday May 22, 2024 1:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Great Famine - S23 E8

Premiered On: 04/11/2011

When a devastating famine descended on Soviet Russia in 1921, Americans responded with a massive two-year relief campaign. This documentary reveals the riveting story of America's engagement with a distant and desperate people.

  • Thursday May 23, 2024 2:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday May 23, 2024 1:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

The Sun Queen - S35 E5

Biophysicist and inventor Maria Telkes, designer of the first successfully solar-heated modern residence, held more than 20 patents at the time of her death in 1995.

  • Monday May 27, 2024 4:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday May 27, 2024 3:00 am CT on KETWORLD

The Lie Detector - S35 E1

Discover the story of the polygraph, the controversial device that transformed modern police work.

  • Tuesday May 28, 2024 3:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday May 28, 2024 2:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Ruthless: Monopoly's Secret History - S35 E3

Discover the fascinating and unexpected history behind Monopoly, America's favorite board game.

  • Tuesday May 28, 2024 4:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday May 28, 2024 3:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Fatal Flood - S13 E11

Premiered On: 04/16/2001

The raging floodwaters of the Mississippi River in 1927 divided one small town, pitting rich against poor, Black against white and threatened to tear one family apart.

  • Wednesday May 29, 2024 2:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday May 29, 2024 1:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Flood in the Desert - S34 E3

Explore the 1928 dam collapse, the second deadliest disaster in California history. A colossal engineering failure, the dam was built by William Mulholland to ensure the growth of Los Angeles by bringing water to the city via aqueduct.

  • Wednesday May 29, 2024 3:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday May 29, 2024 2:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Zoot Suit Riots - S14 E6

Premiered On: 02/10/2002

In 1942, simmering racial tensions in Los Angeles boiled over after the murder of Jose Diaz, a 22-year-old Mexican American. In the aftermath of a highly publicized trial, the city erupted in violent riots that scarred race relations for decades to come.

  • Wednesday May 29, 2024 4:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday May 29, 2024 3:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Stonewall Uprising - S23 E9

Premiered On: 04/25/2011

When gay bar Stonewall Inn was raided in 1969, gay men and women did something they had not done before: they fought back. As told by those present, the streets of New York erupted into violent protests and demonstrations, announcing that the gay rights movement had arrived.

  • Saturday June 1, 2024 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday June 1, 2024 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday June 2, 2024 12:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday June 1, 2024 11:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Riveted: The History of Jeans - S34 E1

Discover the fascinating history of jeans, from their roots in slavery to the Wild West, hippies, high fashion and hip-hop.

  • Tuesday May 28, 2024 2:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday May 28, 2024 1:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday June 11, 2024 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday June 11, 2024 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday June 13, 2024 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday June 13, 2024 1:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday June 18, 2024 4:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday June 18, 2024 3:00 pm CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Poisoned Ground: The Tragedy at Love Canal - S36 E4

  • Monday April 29, 2024 4:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday April 29, 2024 3:00 pm CT on KET
  • Saturday April 27, 2024 3:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday April 27, 2024 2:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday April 27, 2024 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday April 27, 2024 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday April 27, 2024 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday April 27, 2024 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Friday April 26, 2024 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Friday April 26, 2024 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday April 24, 2024 2:30 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday April 24, 2024 1:30 am CT on KET
  • Monday April 22, 2024 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday April 22, 2024 8:00 pm CT on KET

The Sun Queen - S35 E5

  • Monday April 22, 2024 3:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday April 22, 2024 2:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
Top

Explore KET